Snakes & Ladders

Snakes and Ladders

This morning started out a little strange, Malakhai was not feeling himself upon waking which resulted in is breakfast volcanoing out all over Nico.. dismal! But on the other had this gave Khai and I the opportunity for a bit of home-schooling practice.

There are a few things I have learned today and brought to the forefront of my mind….

One is that, from my perspective, in order to summon the patience to assist and direct Khai and Arix in time, I need to prepare my mind and manually gear my mind into a constructive head space.. it is really a no go zone to try to assist in learning while trying to do other things. . For me this does not work!

So having spent a large part of my morning trying to help Khai while on my own little mission while overseeing Malakhai doing his First Time Learning Activity book – from  CNA for SA Parents- impatience and frustration took hold until I took Arix into my arms, plugged him in to feed and focused my attention on Khai.

Having offered my full attention to him I found myself captured by snakes and ladders.. What a great game for a 4 year old!! Until we took the game out I had not previously seen the extent of its advantage before. . Mmmm… well … numbers 1 to 100 … how perfect..as we started the game I realised its full benefit and immediately took advantage.

20 minutes prior to snakes and ladders Khai had not really grasped the real concept of 10; 20; 30; 40 ….We had been doing… ‘ count the turtles and circle the number, find the turtle sticker, now how many turtles are there all together.’ We had been working with numbers 1 to 20 but had never before worked with numbers above 20, besides our ‘spotting numbers game’ while driving around.

As we began our game he was not so keen on me pointing out the numbers at every move and just wanted to get on with the dice throwing and the counting his moves.. until I started saying.. iiiiimmmmm oonnnnnnnn number seeevventeeennn.. and proceeded with what number are you onnnnn… in one of those voices you only talk to your 4 year old in.

Soon he took up the spirit and became excited about the number he was on as well as the number of moves he had to make.. by the end of the game he had gotten the concept of 20; 30 ; 40; 50 …. after the game we counted the whole board through and I was amazed to see how well he had grasped the ’10s’. he was super excited to show Nico his new counting skill which he executed with surprising ability.. .

About World Wide Open Mind

Nicolas and myself Sasha are on a quest to find a way to educate our kids while exploring the world on our yacht.. The Adventures of Sea Eagle and the Fauchereau Family
This entry was posted in Life, Our Edu_sessions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

